12 U.S.C. § 1423

Current through P.L. 116-344 (published on www.congress.gov on 01/13/2021), except for P. Ls. 116-260 and 116-283
Section 1423 - Federal Home Loan Bank districts; number and boundaries; establishment of Federal Home Loan Banks; names
(a) In general

As soon as practicable the Director shall divide the continental United States, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, and the Territories of Alaska and Hawaii into not less than eight nor more than twelve districts. Such districts shall be apportioned with due regard to the convenience and customary course of business of the institutions eligible to and likely to subscribe for stock of a Federal Home Loan Bank to be formed under this chapter, but no such district shall contain a fractional part of any State. The districts thus created may be readjusted and new districts may from time to time be created by the Director, not to exceed twelve in all. Such districts shall be known as Federal Home Loan Bank districts and may be designated by number. As soon as practicable the Director shall establish, in each district, a Federal Home Loan Bank at such city as may be designated by the Director. Its title shall include the name of the city at which it is established.

(b) Authority to reduce districts

Notwithstanding subsection (a), the number of districts may be reduced to a number less than 8-

(1) pursuant to a voluntary merger between Banks, as approved pursuant to section 1446(b) of this title; or
(2) pursuant to a decision by the Director to liquidate a Bank pursuant to section 4617 of this title.

12 U.S.C. § 1423

July 22, 1932, ch. 522, §3, 47 Stat. 726; July 14, 1952, ch. 723, §10(c), 66 Stat. 604; Pub. L. 101-73, title VII, §701(b)(1), (3) (A), Aug. 9, 1989, 103 Stat. 412; Pub. L. 110-289, div. A, title II, §§1204(8)1210,, 12101210,, 122 Stat. 2786, 2790.


AMENDMENTS2008- Pub. L. 110-289, §1210, designated existing provisions as subsec. (a), inserted heading, and added subsec. (b). Pub. L. 110-289, §1204(8), substituted "the Director" for "the Board" wherever appearing.1989- Pub. L. 101-73 substituted "Board" for "board" wherever appearing.1952-Act July 14, 1952, inserted "Guam," after "Virgin Islands,".


ADMISSION OF ALASKA AND HAWAII TO STATEHOODAlaska was admitted into the Union on Jan. 3, 1959, on issuance of Proc. No. 3269, Jan. 3, 1959, 24 F.R. 81, 73 Stat. C16, and Hawaii was admitted into the Union on Aug. 21, 1959, on issuance of Proc. No. 3309, Aug. 21, 1959, 24 F.R. 6868, 73 Stat. C74. For Alaska Statehood Law, see Pub. L. 85-508, July 7, 1958, 72 Stat. 339, set out as a note preceding section 21 of Title 48, Territories and Insular Possessions. For Hawaii Statehood Law, see Pub. L. 86-3, Mar. 18, 1959, 73 Stat. 4, set out as a note preceding section 491 of Title 48.

The term "Director" means the Director of the Bureau.
The term "State" means any State, territory, or possession of the United States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, American Samoa, or the United States Virgin Islands or any federally recognized Indian tribe, as defined by the Secretary of the Interior under section 5131(a) of title 25.